About >

Board of Trustees


The Ottawa Library is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of seven members, each of whom is appointed for a term of four years by the Mayor and whose appointment is approved by the City Commissioners. These terms are staggered. The Mayor is an ex-officio member of the Board. Board members may be reappointed to a second four-year term. The Library Board elects officers for one-year terms beginning in April.


The Board generally holds meeting on the fourth Monday of each month at 6:00 PM, subject to change based on holidays and severe weather. These meetings are open to the public, staff, and press. Meetings, held in-person, are held in the Study Session room on the main floor of City Hall. Zoom broadcasts have been added to allow the community to participate from their homes.​ 

The next meeting is scheduled for Monday, November 23rd at 6:00 pm.

Zoom Meeting Direct Link

Meeting ID: 977 0263 3257

View on Google Calendar


  • David Tyler, President

  • Brandon Wilcox, Vice President

  • Sharon Geiss, Secretary

  • Tom Shrimplin, Treasurer

  • Deb Henningsen

  • Jody Lancaster

  • Lind Normile

  • Gloria Kruse, NEKLS Representative

  • Tom Weigand, Mayor / Member ex-officio


Meeting minutes can be found on our Documents & Policies page.​